Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit aenean commodo

back to top
  /  Plates and boards

What are the different types of wood?

European Ash

(European Ash (Fraxinus excelsior))

We harvest our ash timber  from the Warmian-Masurian forests in northeastern Poland. The lumber of  common ash is hard and elastic with beautiful grain and delicate aroma. It withstands pressure, which makes it very suitable for tool handles,  sports equipment, as well as for furniture, veneer and flooring. It is also well suited for bows and arrows.

In Nordic mythology, the  great tree Yggdrasil was a gigantic ash that connected the nine worlds.  Ash trunks were also erected as Irminsuls, representations of the pillars of the world.


European oak

(European oak (Quercus robur))

Also known as pedunculate oak. Our timber is harvested from the forests of the Warmia-Masuria region of northeastern Poland. The wood from these oaks is hard and durable and valued for several purposes, including construction, furniture, veneer, fencing, and firewood. It has a high tannin content, which makes it resistant to insect and fungal attacks and is particularly useful for wine and spirit barrels. In Saxon mythology, a particularly large oak in the German region of Hesse was revered by the locals as a sacred tree dedicated to Thor, eventually being felled by Saint Boniface in the 8th century. Sacred trees and groves were also common locations of worship for pre-Christian Slavs.



(Sapele (Entandrophragma cylindricum))

Often refered to as African mahogany, these trees can reach upwards of 60 meters in height. In its raw state it has a subtle, citrusy aroma. The resulting material is very stable with a beautiful grain and color, used in all woodworking applications from fine furniture to decorative turning.

Cart Item Removed. Undo
  • No products in the cart.